Advanced Search

Who is Online

In total there are 6 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 6 Guests

Registered Users: None

[ View complete list ]

Most users ever online was 248 on Wed Dec 12, 2007 11:53 pm

Melangyna species ID Please
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Hoverfly Recording Scheme Forum Index -> General discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
robinsects

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2008 1:24 am    Post subject: Melangyna species ID Please Reply with quote

Melangyna species (male) ?
P8140701 crop1

The Roughs
Yorkshire Bridge Common
14-8-2008

I am new to this identification lark so if anyone has any ideas on this one I would appreciate your comments.

Initially thought to be M. umbrellaterum based on close similarity to specimen on Elizabeth Grimes1 Flickr site Similar species mentioned in Stubbs - M. compositarum and M. labiatarum. There are but no photos available for these, but they are supposed to be citrus yellow rather than creamy white as is the case of M. umbellatarum (and in this specimen).
Other features which militate against M. umbellatarum are the thorax is dark brown rather than shiney black; there seems to be a dark dusting on the wings. This is not shown in the illustation Stubbs Plate 2 Fig 6a for M. umbellatarum. However there is mention of extensive wing cover with microtritia for compositarum /labiatum.

Photos onthe internet show abdominal hairs for compositarum /labiatum. But no evident hairs on this photo.

Curiously the small rounded spots (towards the front of tergite 2) fit well to M. lucifera but this is a species not reported in the UK only in France and Scandinavia. M. lasiophthalma has small spots but further back. Meligramma trianguliferum has small spots but triangular rather than rounded.

Impossible to tell whether hairs on the eyes even when the photo is blown up to high magnification.