Search

Advanced Search

Who is Online

In total there are 8 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 8 Guests

Registered Users: None

[ View complete list ]

Most users ever online was 248 on Wed Dec 12, 2007 11:53 pm

introduction

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Hoverfly Recording Scheme Forum Index -> General discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
lauriek

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 11:29 pm    Post subject: introduction Reply with quote

Hi,

This is a combination of a test post to check the registration worked okay and a very quick introduction!

I've been photographing bugs for a few years now but am getting seriously into proper identification. I'm still trying to find a copy of Stubbs/Falk so my general insect field guides and google are all I have to help me with IDs at the moment, so I was glad to find this place. I expect I will be posting quite a few hoverfly photos for help with IDs soon! Hope you all don't mind!! Wink

Anyway, getting late, will try to post a few pictures tomorrow. I'm having particular trouble with a few Eristalis species at the moment....

Cheers!

ps does anyone know any similar sites to this for identification of other specific insect groups? (Beetles would be handy!) I know whatsthatbug.com and bugguide but they are both US based, some more UK based sites would be cool!!
conopid

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi and welcome to the scheme. You can get British Hoverflies 2nd Edition from
http://www.benhs.org.uk/benhs.html

Worth investing in as it's a cracking book - one of the best guides out there.

lauriek

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Book arrived yesterday! I'm very impressed so far but its going to take me a while to get used to the names of all these fly body parts!! Wink
John O'Sullivan

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote